Easter 2011

Happy Day After Easter! Hope your holiday was as enjoyable as ours was!! This year we celebrated with both family and friends, so we were a nice-sized group of 11!

As previously mentioned, in creation of the day’s cupcakes, I had a few requests to fulfill. Most of them came from my sister:

    1. She wanted a bunny cake (I obliged with bunny cupcakes)
    2. She wanted my mom’s chocolate frosted layer cake (I again obliged by using my mom’s recipes)
    3. Her BF has a coconut allergy, so I wanted to provide another option for him since the bunnies have coconut faces!

To start, I made all the cupcakes with the Betty Crocker New Starlight Cake recipe. The recipe dates back to at least the 1960s, and this has been my mom’s go-to yellow cake recipe for as long as I can remember. You can’t even find this on the Betty Crocker website anymore. The closest thing they have is a Yellow Cake recipe, and even that’s a bit different. The only change I made to the original recipe was using butter instead of the shortening, and of course I made cupcakes, rather than cake.

Then there’s the frosting. My mom’s chocolate frosting is the best around, and a closely guarded secret, and also dates back to the 60s!  To emulate the layer-cake that my sister loves, I filled all the cupcakes with the chocolate frosting. Then half got frosted with vanilla buttercream, while the rest got frosted with the chocolate frosting.

I then proceed to decorate all the cupcakes with a variety of peeps, lambs, sprinkles, and colored sugar for a festive Easter display!

Chocolate Frosting, Yellow Cake, Chocolate Filling

Then, to fulfill her bunny cake request, I frosted a bunch of cupcakes with vanilla buttercream, dipped them in shredded coconut, and added some marshmallow ears, and a goofy face!

Cute or creepy? I can't tell...

Only half the vanilla-frosted ones got bunny faces because I wasn’t sure how they’d come out… The rest got peeped!

Vanilla Buttercream, Yellow Cake, Peeps & Bunnies

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

